Slow carb diet…the transformation begins…

So most of you who are connected to me on Facebook and Twitter will have seen yesterday that I have embarked on the slow carb diet as outlined by Tim Ferris in the 4 hr body. This to a few people seemed odd unless the diet consistent of pies, hot dogs and anything to add some fat to my frame. It’s it odd the perception of your own physique against that of others. I am not overweight by any stretch at 5.9″ and bang on 11st I have a BMI of 22:71 which my all calculations is right smack in the middle of the green zone.

So why diet?

Well I’m not dieting to lose weight but to see what a change in diet and exercise has on my body. A test, nothing more, nothing less. I really believe that every 2 / 3 years we should take a look at ever part of our lives and any part you are not 100% happy with give it a really good shake up. Doing the same thing all the time is boring right and you don’t learn anything.

With weight lifting min. 3 times a week and running 40k avg. per week you would expect a 27 year old to have a toned, muscular physique right? At this point in time that isn’t the case. Now I am not one to take pictures and post online but I think the two below will start to give you a feel of where I have been, where I am now  and where I want to get to. The below picture was taken in Nov 2011.

I was in the best shape I had been in for years. At this point I was lifting every morning and running twice on a weekend but more importantly I was watching what I was eating. Over the last 3/4 months I haven’t been doing that and have paid the price. This picture was taken on Saturday…

What a difference 3 months make right! Apart from looking like a milk bottle I have lost all definition and bulk and not to mention the 6 pack is well and truly hidden. It isn’t horrific I know but I if I am going to change things drastically I need a plan.

So the plan is to get back to where I was in 1 month and achieve the type of physique below by November 2012 and document the progress here on my blog. I know loads of people do this sort of stuff but I will also blend it with advertising, digital, technology and  business posts just to maintain the variety but as one of my major projects for the year and something I know will take a hell of lot of motivation, focus and drive I think its important to share the progress and hopefully some of you might join in (Dan is already along for the ride) or support or take the piss – all or welcome.

To achieve this in 9 months is achievable but just to set the scene here are my current stats and what I need to get to. The guy above has about 5% body fat, I estimate mine to be between 18-22% at this time (I will have specifics next week). He is 5.9″ same as me and weights nearly 12.5st. I’m 11st.

To achieve this I am doing two major things:

1. Going on the slow card diet that Tim Ferris swears by in his great new book 4 hour body.

2. Change my exercise schedule to be weight and run on alternate days with a rest day on Saturday (munch munch day as it is now called)

 

 

 

So the measurements as of Monday are:

Right bicep – 13″

Left  bicep – 13″

Waist – 32″

Hips – 33″

Right thigh – 21.5″

Left thigh – 21″

Total Inches: 133.5

Weight – 11st 2lbs

Body Fat Est. 20%

 

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment